nano-editor.git
5 weeks agoadd a page that shows badges from Repology for fourteen distros master
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 29 Jun 2021 15:25:22 +0000 (17:25 +0200)] 
add a page that shows badges from Repology for fourteen distros

5 weeks agoreplace the Fedora URL with one that works
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 29 Jun 2021 14:09:41 +0000 (16:09 +0200)] 
replace the Fedora URL with one that works

5 weeks agounencode an ampersand in a URL
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 29 Jun 2021 14:06:50 +0000 (16:06 +0200)] 
unencode an ampersand in a URL

The W3 validator may complain about a literal ampersand,
but having a %26 in the URL instead does not work.

7 weeks agorewrap a line, for esthetics
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 15 Jun 2021 08:35:58 +0000 (10:35 +0200)] 
rewrap a line, for esthetics

7 weeks agonote the release of 5.8
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 15 Jun 2021 08:06:00 +0000 (10:06 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.8

7 weeks agoadd an overlooked item to the news for version 4.3
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 13 Jun 2021 09:23:09 +0000 (11:23 +0200)] 
add an overlooked item to the news for version 4.3

8 weeks agoadd a link in the docs section to the manual as PDF
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 8 Jun 2021 09:12:04 +0000 (11:12 +0200)] 
add a link in the docs section to the manual as PDF

The PDF has been there for ages, but the website has never linked to it.

2 months agoadd a required alt attribute to an image
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 20 May 2021 10:32:43 +0000 (12:32 +0200)] 
add a required alt attribute to an image

2 months agoencode an ampersand in a URL: & => %26
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 20 May 2021 10:28:41 +0000 (12:28 +0200)] 
encode an ampersand in a URL: & => %26

2 months agoremove the invalid height attribute from all tables
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 20 May 2021 10:19:23 +0000 (12:19 +0200)] 
remove the invalid height attribute from all tables

The W3 validator complains about these.

2 months agoremove two slashes that are not valid in HTML4
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 20 May 2021 10:15:43 +0000 (12:15 +0200)] 
remove two slashes that are not valid in HTML4

The W3 validator complains about "/>" not being valid in HTML4.

2 months agoreplace an mdash with an ndash
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:48:42 +0000 (12:48 +0200)] 
replace an mdash with an ndash

2 months agoprefix the title of each page with "nano — "
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:44:52 +0000 (12:44 +0200)] 
prefix the title of each page with "nano — "

2 months agoadd a <meta> description tag in the <head> section of the main page
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:38:55 +0000 (12:38 +0200)] 
add a <meta> description tag in the <head> section of the main page

Otherwise search engines will show the garbage of the ASCII art.

Thanks to Peter Liscovius for suggesting how to do this in PHP.

This fixes https://savannah.gnu.org/bugs/?60511.

2 months agoput the <title> tag inside the <head> section of each page
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 5 May 2021 10:14:05 +0000 (12:14 +0200)] 
put the <title> tag inside the <head> section of each page

Otherwise the pages are not well-formed HTML.

Thanks to Peter Liscovius for suggesting how to do this in PHP.

3 months agoadd a screenshot of a lean 5.7
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 2 May 2021 10:38:51 +0000 (12:38 +0200)] 
add a screenshot of a lean 5.7

3 months agonote the release of 5.7
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 29 Apr 2021 10:41:22 +0000 (12:41 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.7

5 months agonote the release of 5.6.1
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 3 Mar 2021 09:14:09 +0000 (10:14 +0100)] 
note the release of 5.6.1

5 months agoformat an overlooked option
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 24 Feb 2021 10:21:22 +0000 (11:21 +0100)] 
format an overlooked option

5 months agonote the release of 5.6
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 24 Feb 2021 10:19:11 +0000 (11:19 +0100)] 
note the release of 5.6

6 months agonote the release of 5.5
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 14 Jan 2021 10:27:18 +0000 (11:27 +0100)] 
note the release of 5.5

8 months agorewrap the news item
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 2 Dec 2020 10:53:33 +0000 (11:53 +0100)] 
rewrap the news item

8 months agonote the release of 5.4
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 2 Dec 2020 10:42:38 +0000 (11:42 +0100)] 
note the release of 5.4

9 months agonote the release of 5.3
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 7 Oct 2020 09:09:23 +0000 (11:09 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.3

11 months agonote the release of 5.2
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 24 Aug 2020 08:54:31 +0000 (10:54 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.2

11 months agoreshuffle a word
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 12 Aug 2020 06:39:25 +0000 (08:39 +0200)] 
reshuffle a word

11 months agonote the release of 5.1
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 12 Aug 2020 06:37:12 +0000 (08:37 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.1

12 months agoproperly close two font-style tags
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 29 Jul 2020 08:36:30 +0000 (10:36 +0200)] 
properly close two font-style tags

12 months agonote the release of 5.0
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 29 Jul 2020 08:30:40 +0000 (10:30 +0200)] 
note the release of 5.0

14 months agobreak long line :|
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 May 2020 15:31:28 +0000 (17:31 +0200)] 
break long line  :|

14 months agonote the release of 4.9.3
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 May 2020 15:30:44 +0000 (17:30 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.9.3

15 months agooof... encode < and >, after correcting permissions in /var/www/nano
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 7 Apr 2020 17:06:04 +0000 (19:06 +0200)] 
oof... encode < and >, after correcting permissions in /var/www/nano

15 months agowhen doing a push, the affected objects get r--r--r-- permissions :|
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 7 Apr 2020 10:04:12 +0000 (12:04 +0200)] 
when doing a push, the affected objects get r--r--r-- permissions  :|

15 months agoanother attempt, after correcting the permissions on the server
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 7 Apr 2020 09:56:11 +0000 (11:56 +0200)] 
another attempt, after correcting the permissions on the server

15 months agonote the release of 4.9.2
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 7 Apr 2020 09:37:17 +0000 (11:37 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.9.2

16 months agoanother attempt to trigger an update when pushing a commit
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 1 Apr 2020 14:20:01 +0000 (16:20 +0200)] 
another attempt to trigger an update when pushing a commit

16 months agochange whitespace, to trigger an update or see the error again
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 31 Mar 2020 10:29:18 +0000 (12:29 +0200)] 
change whitespace, to trigger an update or see the error again

16 months agonote the release of 4.9.1
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 31 Mar 2020 10:19:40 +0000 (12:19 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.9.1

16 months agonote the release of 4.9
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 24 Mar 2020 10:28:51 +0000 (11:28 +0100)] 
note the release of 4.9

17 months agonote the release of 4.8
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 7 Feb 2020 10:41:47 +0000 (11:41 +0100)] 
note the release of 4.8

19 months agoadd support for dark mode preferences
Mike Frysinger [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 13:54:48 +0000 (08:54 -0500)] 
add support for dark mode preferences

19 months agopull color styles out into CSS stylesheets
Mike Frysinger [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 13:16:54 +0000 (08:16 -0500)] 
pull color styles out into CSS stylesheets

This centralizes and avoids duplication of the different colors.

19 months agocrush all png images
Mike Frysinger [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 08:03:37 +0000 (03:03 -0500)] 
crush all png images

19 months agoimport screenshots from checkout
Mike Frysinger [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 07:34:38 +0000 (02:34 -0500)] 
import screenshots from checkout

19 months agomove symlinks into git for tracking
Mike Frysinger [Thu, 2 Jan 2020 07:27:16 +0000 (02:27 -0500)] 
move symlinks into git for tracking

19 months agoadd the missing tabulation stuff for the news item
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 23 Dec 2019 10:55:33 +0000 (11:55 +0100)] 
add the missing tabulation stuff for the news item

19 months agonote the release of 4.7
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 23 Dec 2019 10:53:27 +0000 (11:53 +0100)] 
note the release of 4.7

19 months agoadd the 'lang' attribute, and drop the mistaken "generator" thing
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 6 Dec 2019 11:54:21 +0000 (12:54 +0100)] 
add the 'lang' attribute, and drop the mistaken "generator" thing

Also elide a <div> and tweak some padding whitespace.

20 months agoadd <tt> tags around a keystroke
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 29 Nov 2019 10:42:51 +0000 (11:42 +0100)] 
add <tt> tags around a keystroke

20 months agonote the release of 4.6
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 29 Nov 2019 10:38:16 +0000 (11:38 +0100)] 
note the release of 4.6

21 months agomove another two disallowed breaks
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 20 Oct 2019 14:43:31 +0000 (16:43 +0200)] 
move another two disallowed breaks

21 months agoadd extra breaks to restiore the spacing
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 20 Oct 2019 14:40:40 +0000 (16:40 +0200)] 
add extra breaks to restiore the spacing

21 months agoremove disallowed breaks between list items
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 20 Oct 2019 14:38:27 +0000 (16:38 +0200)] 
remove disallowed breaks between list items

21 months agofix a misformatted list item
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 20 Oct 2019 14:34:19 +0000 (16:34 +0200)] 
fix a misformatted list item

21 months agopush the bottom bar one row down
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 12 Oct 2019 08:58:50 +0000 (10:58 +0200)] 
push the bottom bar one row down

21 months agoencode an accented character
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 12 Oct 2019 08:56:18 +0000 (10:56 +0200)] 
encode an accented character

22 months agoanother re-ordering of the bottom rows
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 12:47:23 +0000 (14:47 +0200)] 
another re-ordering of the bottom rows

22 months agore-order the bottom row, and change VCS to Git
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 12:40:13 +0000 (14:40 +0200)] 
re-order the bottom row, and change VCS to Git

22 months agoa few more text tweaks: condensing ones
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 12:36:19 +0000 (14:36 +0200)] 
a few more text tweaks: condensing ones

22 months agoa few textual and formatting tweaks
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 12:30:11 +0000 (14:30 +0200)] 
a few textual and formatting tweaks

22 months agogather the "overview" stuff into a single page, and name it better
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 12:11:38 +0000 (14:11 +0200)] 
gather the "overview" stuff into a single page, and name it better

22 months agoreword the Source and Contact pages
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 11:37:52 +0000 (13:37 +0200)] 
reword the Source and Contact pages

22 months agonote the release of 4.5
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 4 Oct 2019 10:31:12 +0000 (12:31 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.5

23 months agokak -- missed a file
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 18:10:25 +0000 (20:10 +0200)] 
kak -- missed a file

23 months agoharmonize some whitespace
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 18:08:34 +0000 (20:08 +0200)] 
harmonize some whitespace

23 months agooops -- when using <pre> and <center>, trailing space is significant
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 17:59:32 +0000 (19:59 +0200)] 
oops -- when using <pre> and <center>, trailing space is significant

23 months agoimprove the spacing of the front-page elements
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 2 Sep 2019 17:54:01 +0000 (19:54 +0200)] 
improve the spacing of the front-page elements

23 months agoremove a few excess blank lines from the news page
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 25 Aug 2019 09:41:16 +0000 (11:41 +0200)] 
remove a few excess blank lines from the news page

23 months agomake the "News" title more conspicuous
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 25 Aug 2019 09:38:00 +0000 (11:38 +0200)] 
make the "News" title more conspicuous

23 months agoput the latest version where nano's version number normally is: top left
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 09:06:04 +0000 (11:06 +0200)] 
put the latest version where nano's version number normally is: top left

This makes the website's top bar look a bit more like nano's title bar.

23 months agocorrect the <!DOCTYPE> declaration: include a URL of the actual DTD
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:40:22 +0000 (10:40 +0200)] 
correct the <!DOCTYPE> declaration: include a URL of the actual DTD

23 months agoremove the unneeded and invalid 'cols' attribute from tables
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:36:30 +0000 (10:36 +0200)] 
remove the unneeded and invalid 'cols' attribute from tables

23 months agoremove redundant specifications of the 'height' attribute
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:26:21 +0000 (10:26 +0200)] 
remove redundant specifications of the 'height' attribute

23 months agorewrap a couple of lines, and drop some trailing whitespace
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:21:06 +0000 (10:21 +0200)] 
rewrap a couple of lines, and drop some trailing whitespace

23 months agoremove the nonexistent attribute 'nosave'
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:07:51 +0000 (10:07 +0200)] 
remove the nonexistent attribute 'nosave'

23 months agoelide a symlink
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 23 Aug 2019 08:06:38 +0000 (10:06 +0200)] 
elide a symlink

23 months agonote the release of 4.4
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 25 Aug 2019 09:08:54 +0000 (11:08 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.4

2 years agonote the release of 4.3
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 18 Jun 2019 08:43:50 +0000 (10:43 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.3

2 years agoadd a screenshot of the 4.2 version
Benno Schulenberg [Thu, 25 Apr 2019 12:20:58 +0000 (14:20 +0200)] 
add a screenshot of the 4.2 version

2 years agouse <tt> instead of <pre> for monospace
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 24 Apr 2019 09:30:58 +0000 (11:30 +0200)] 
use <tt> instead of <pre> for monospace

2 years agoput nano's name and version in bold, and options in monospace
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 24 Apr 2019 09:28:14 +0000 (11:28 +0200)] 
put nano's name and version in bold, and options in monospace

2 years agonote the release of 4.2
Benno Schulenberg [Wed, 24 Apr 2019 09:15:45 +0000 (11:15 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.2

2 years agonote the release of 4.1
Benno Schulenberg [Mon, 15 Apr 2019 08:12:20 +0000 (10:12 +0200)] 
note the release of 4.1

2 years agooops -- change the year too
Benno Schulenberg [Fri, 29 Mar 2019 07:36:39 +0000 (08:36 +0100)] 
oops -- change the year too

2 years agoanother attempt at putting some air between the screenshots
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 26 Mar 2019 14:36:07 +0000 (15:36 +0100)] 
another attempt at putting some air between the screenshots

2 years agoadd a screenshot of the 3.2 version
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 26 Mar 2019 14:17:09 +0000 (15:17 +0100)] 
add a screenshot of the 3.2 version

Also, add some spacing between the images, and remove the sublists.

2 years agoencode more of those pointy brackets
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 24 Mar 2019 12:39:49 +0000 (13:39 +0100)] 
encode more of those pointy brackets

2 years agoencode literal angular brackets -- again
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 24 Mar 2019 12:37:48 +0000 (13:37 +0100)] 
encode literal angular brackets -- again

2 years agomake the bulletted list a single block of text
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 24 Mar 2019 12:19:36 +0000 (13:19 +0100)] 
make the bulletted list a single block of text

Use a single-cell table for this.  There must be a better way,
but I have little knowledge of HTML.

2 years agomake a bulletted list in HTML
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 24 Mar 2019 12:10:25 +0000 (13:10 +0100)] 
make a bulletted list in HTML

2 years agonote the release of 4.0
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 24 Mar 2019 12:04:23 +0000 (13:04 +0100)] 
note the release of 4.0

2 years agoadd a link to the newly-added cheatsheet
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 Mar 2019 08:11:38 +0000 (09:11 +0100)] 
add a link to the newly-added cheatsheet

2 years agocondense the documentation page a bit
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 Mar 2019 08:07:09 +0000 (09:07 +0100)] 
condense the documentation page a bit

2 years agoremove trailing newline from version numbers and date
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 Mar 2019 08:04:12 +0000 (09:04 +0100)] 
remove trailing newline from version numbers and date

In some browsers it causes a space to be added after the number.

2 years agofix malformatted table
Benno Schulenberg [Sat, 23 Mar 2019 08:03:32 +0000 (09:03 +0100)] 
fix malformatted table

2 years agooof -- angular brackets again, they need to be encoded
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 11 Nov 2018 16:03:14 +0000 (17:03 +0100)] 
oof -- angular brackets again, they need to be encoded

2 years agonote the release of 3.2
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 11 Nov 2018 16:00:46 +0000 (17:00 +0100)] 
note the release of 3.2

2 years agonote the release of 3.1
Benno Schulenberg [Tue, 18 Sep 2018 17:52:13 +0000 (19:52 +0200)] 
note the release of 3.1

2 years agoencode angular brackets as &lt; and &gt; -- it is HTML
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 9 Sep 2018 10:03:35 +0000 (12:03 +0200)] 
encode angular brackets as &lt; and &gt; -- it is HTML

2 years agonote the release of 3.0
Benno Schulenberg [Sun, 9 Sep 2018 09:51:37 +0000 (11:51 +0200)] 
note the release of 3.0